Skip to main content

Add Me To Your Mailing List

..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....


Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events


9th Annual Back-to-School BBQ


THANK YOU to all who supported our 2014 ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS 

"Leveraging Our Collective Resources for Impact" 
December 19, 2014
Zions Bank
One South Main, Salt Lake City, UT 84133
Founders Room, 18th Floor
The Annual Achievement Awards Ceremony was held at Zions Bank's downtown administrative headquarters building. Over $3500 in scholarships were given away and 16 people recognize for excellence in our community!

In an effort to expand our giving, we are still looking for individuals, organizations, and businesses who are interested in donating to our scholarship fund, so we can continue to support our youth!

View Pictures on the link below of our Achievement Awards Ceremony. Please send us any additional pictures you may have taken:
High School Essay (unranked by alphabetical order) Winners: Brynlie Cox (Lehi HS), Brayden O'Brien (Viewmont HS), and Sydney Pond (Bear River HS)

Brynlie CoxBrayden OSydney Pond

Local Awards for the Utah High School Essay Contest:

 Three College Book Scholarships

1st Place Scholarship: $500 | 2nd Place Scholarship: $300 | 3rd Place Scholarship: $200

National Awards for High School Essay Contest: Four College Scholarships

1st Scholarship, $5000; 2nd Scholarship, $3,000; 3rd Scholarship, $2,000; 4th Scholarship, $1000.00


African American Male High School Scholar (unranked by alphabetical order) Winners: Akinwole' Brown (Hunter High School), Franklyn Foli (West High School), and Alassane Niang (Highland High School)

One College Scholarship and Two College Book Scholarships:

1st Place Scholarship: $1,000 | 2nd Place Book Scholarship: $500 | 3rd Place Book Scholarship: $300

Akinwole Brown  Franklyn FoliAlassane Niang

Business of the Year: Mr. Vics Digital Photography

Organization of the Year: Calvary Baptist Church

Educators of the Year: Dr. Wilfred Samuels & Dr. Joyce Gray

Community Servant Award: Dr. Paula Smith

Social Justice/Civil Rights Award: Ms. Debra Daniels

CITIZEN OF THE YEAR: Ms. Kathleen Christy
Col. Charles Young Military Leadership Award: Bro. 2nd LT. Eien Williams
Superior Service Award: Bro. Dr. William A. Smith
Founders Award: Bro. Dr. William A. Smith

Mr. VicWilfred SamuelsJoyce Gray Paula Smith

Debra DanielsKathleen Christy


Thank you for your help          
The Members of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. would like to thank our Achievement Awards judges for their tremendous work in selecting this year's award winners:
High School Essay Awards
Dr. Flannery Stevens, University of Utah
Mrs. Gloria Wilkinson, Zions Bank
Mrs. Karen Henriquez, University of Utah
Dr. Laurence Parker, University of Utah
Dr. Paula Smith, University of Utah
Dr. Wilfred Samuels, University of Utah

African American Male Scholars
Mrs. Gloria Wilkinson, Zions Bank
Mrs. Karen Henriquez, University of Utah
Ms. Kathleen Christy, Salt Lake School District
Dr. Laurence Parker, University of Utah
Dr. Paula Smith, University of Utah
Mrs. Shea Eason, Weber State University
Dr. Steve Bell, University of Utah
Achievement Service Awards*

Mr. Darius Gray, (Citizen of the Year, 2011)

Ms. Emma Houston, Brighter Day Productions (Business of the Year, 2013)

Pastor France Davis, Calvary Baptist Church (Citizen of the Year, 2010)

Mrs. Frances Battle, Nibley Park School (Educator of the Year, 2011)

Mrs. Gloria Wilkinson, Zions Bank (Business of the Year, 2011)

Mr. Ike Spencer, West Lake Jr. HS (Educator of the Year, 2013)

Dr. Jacqueline Thompson, Davis School District (Educator of the Year, 2012)

Ms. Kathleen Christy, Salt Lake School District (Educator of the Year, 2010)

Mr. Larry Houston, L-3 Communications, Boy Scouts, & Kappa Alpha Psi (Community Servant Award, 2011)

Mrs. Michelle Love-Day, Delta Sigma Theta (Organization of the Year, 2011)

Dr. Ronald Coleman, University of Utah (Citizen of the Year, 2013)

Ms. Sarah McClellan, Northern Utah Coalition (Organization of the Year, 2012)

Judge Shauna Robertson, Salt Lake County Court & Alpha Kappa Alpha (Social Justice/Civil Rights Award, 2013)

Ms. Vanessa Washington (Lottie B. Wilson/Woman of the Year, 2011)

*Achievement Service Awards judges are alumni award winners who assist in the nomination and selection of awardees.

Watch this video and learn why
your business or company should partner with Omega Psi Phi
then click on the following button
to learn more about local:
Tri Iota Corporate/Business Sponsorships

Omegas doing our duty to help our fellow brothers and sisters in need:
We Feed the Homeless every 4th Sunday